Savory French Toast Sandwich

Most days I cook for two.  I appreciate this, because it forces me to think in advance about what I’m going to cook and begin prepping in a timely manner.  (Also, Jack does all the chopping. Lovely).  But on occasions where I have to cook for myself I never want to put in the effort to make something, but also don’t want to just eat something fast like cereal, or the leftover soup I also ate for lunch.  This conundrum usually ends in my waiting much too long to begin cooking, and so by the time I do I’m really hungry and particularly do not want to put effort into things.  It’s about this point that I start googling random ingredients I happen to have on hand to see if something interesting pops us.  That is, until I discovered the website Cook Think, which includes a recipe guessing tool where you input ingredients, cuisine types, dishes, or moods, and out comes a list of dishes with links to recipes.

I don’t remember what combination of words I inputted, but it brought me to recipe for savoury French toast.  I’d never considered savoury French toast before, but it makes perfect sense considering that most breakfast dishes made with eggs are savoury.  So I ran with the idea, and it turned out to be delicious – the bread had the texture of french toast (which I love), but a completely different flavour profile.  Think of it as a spin on a breakfast sandwich, rather than a spin on french toast.

Ingredients

  • two slices of bread
  • 2 eggs
  • a splash of milk (I used buttermilk, because it’s what I had)
  • salt and pepper
  • 3/4 cup frozen spinach
  • half a tomato, sliced
  • slices of brie cheese

Directions

Place eggs, milk and salt and pepper in a bowl and beat lightly with a fork.  Dip bread slices in egg mixture until coated on both sides.  Place soaked bread in a dish or on a baking sheet, and pour remaining mixture over the bread.  Let rest while preparing the rest of the ingredients.

Defrost and cook slightly the spinach by sweating it in a pan until most of the liquid is evaporated. Season with pepper. Slice tomato and cheese. Line a baking sheet with parchment or foil, and butter it so the bread does not stick (I didn’t do this and the bread did stick, as visible in the picture).  Place the first slice on the sheet, top with cheese, tomato, spinach and the second bread slice.  Bake in preheated 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes, until outside of bread is toasted, and inside all melted.

Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Sandwich and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

