Sesame Noodle Salad

So, while I’ve gushed about the Vegan Yum Yum cookbook in the past, I have failed to note that I pretty much only make two recipes out of it consistently – ‘African Yam Stew’ and the ‘Nearly-Raw Tahini Noodles.’  But they have both become meal staples for me.  For the stew, I follow the recipe essentially exactly (failing if I don’t have an ingredient on hand), with the exception of a little added fenugreek (it was hard to find, I bought a lot of it, so I put it in everything I possibly can).  The salad, on the other hand is sort of infinitely variable, so I’ve made it all sorts of ways. I’ve cooked the vegetables, I’ve left them raw. I’ve used zucchini, peppers, cabbage, cucumber, onion, green onion, celery, spinach, broccoli in various combinations, and chopped or grated or sliced in a number of ways.  I’ve added chick peas, I’ve added tofu.  I’ve used whole grain spaghetti, buckwheat soba noodles, brown rice spaghetti.  I’ve replaced the tahini with peanut butter and with almond butter.  It’s always delicious, and delightfully light and refreshing.  One of the best quick meals, and very excellent for hot summer days when we all try to keep turning on the stove to a minimum.

All that you really need is the incredible dressing recipe.  Using tahini (as the recipe originally intended) is probably my favourite way to make the dressing, but it’s probably wonderful with any nut or seed butter.

Ingredients

The dressing

  • 1/4 Cup Tahini (less if you’re using ‘sesame paste,’ which is stronger tasting)
  • 2 Tbs Soy Sauce
  • 3 Tbs Water
  • 1 Tbs Sugar
  • 1 Tbs Rice Vinegar
  • 1 tsp Chili Sauce (I use sriracha)
  • 1 tsp Dijon Mustard
  • Black Pepper

The salad

  • 1/2 pound whole wheat spaghetti (or other long noodles of your choice), boiled and rinsed in cold water until cool.
  • any vegetables you want (I recommend thinly shredded cabbage, grated carrots, broccoli and green onions, but it’s delicious with everything, so feel free to use whatever you have on hand.)
  • I can chick peas, drained and rinsed (I almost always do this. They go really well with the tahini and add a little protein to the meal).

Directions

Mix dressing ingredients together and toss with salad ingredients until well coated (tongs work well for this). Serve and enjoy.

Also, this recipe is also on the Vegan Yum Yum blog, if you’d like to check out the original (and see a lovely picture of the meal).

This entry was posted in Salad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sesame Noodle Salad

  1. Christa says:

    This looks super tasty! I’m trying it tonight. Oh yes.

  2. Christa says:

    I’m eating it now (last night got too late/lazy for dinner making, so I just had some nut mix and called it a night). Very nice! I particularly like that not many ingredients are needed, and that the majority of them are usually on hand. Like you suggested, I used grated carrots and green onions. I didn’t have any chickpeas around, so I used some left over shrimp instead. Yum!
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

