Bailey’s Chocolate Cake. No, really.

So, last week I had the best idea I’ve ever had. What if I make a chocolate cake, I thought, instead of finishing my day’s writing? And what if I glaze that cake, twice? With chocolate glaze AND with Bailey’s glaze?

Once it occurred to me, I couldn’t stop thinking about it. The mere thought of Bailey’s-glazed cake haunted every word I wrote until finally I gave up and started to bake. Aaaaaand… I bombed. I tried to develop my first gluten-free cake recipe, and I definitely didn’t master it. (I promise you wheat-free folks that I will get the hang of it soon!) However, I didn’t regret that cake because it was still good, just a little crumbly. And more importantly, I discovered that double-glazing (in chocolate-Bailey’s form, as well as in window form) is in fact blow-your-mind good.

So, after eating that entire cake myself, I decided I better develop a different recipe that might do more justice to the topping. And thus, this version was born. The cake’s not bad: rich, dark, chocolately goodness. And the glazing is still stupidly delicious.

Cake Ingredients

  • 1 c. plain white flour
  • 1/2 c. ground almonds
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. cocoa
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • about 4 oz. dark chocolate (mine was semi-sweetened, but if you use unsweetened you will want to add more sugar – the cake is not that sweet as is)
  • 1/3 c. vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp. white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 c. warm water (more or less as needed to get consistency of cake batter)

Cake Directions

Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease 8-inch cake pan and set aside. Mix dry ingredients (flour to baking soda) in a large bowl. Melt chocolate at a low heat, stirring often; if you melt your chocolate on the stovetop, use a double-boiler so it is off the direct heat. Meanwhile, in a medium-sized bowl, mix wet ingredients (oil to water), then stir in chocolate once it is melted. Make a well in dry ingredients and add chocolate mixture, and stir until mixed well. Pour into greased cake pan and bake for about 15 minutes, or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Glaze Ingredients

  • about 5 Tbsp. icing sugar
  • about 1 oz. dark chocolate (semi or unsweetened), melted as above
  • about 1 tsp. Bailey’s Irish Cream

Glaze Directions

Sift 2 Tbsp. icing sugar into a small bowl. Slowly add melted chocolate, mixing thoroughly. In another small bowl, sift another 2 Tbsp. icing sugar. Slowly add Bailey’s, mixing thoroughly. In both cases, you can add more icing sugar to thicken the consistency or more liquid to thin it. This is partly personal taste. I usually have it so that the glaze thickens but does drip off the spoon fairly readily, while hardening on the cake. Then again, the thinner it is, the more it will soak into the cake – also a delicious option.

When the cake is finished baking and has started to cool, start by spreading the chocolate glaze on. Cover the cake liberally! Then drizzle the Bailey’s glaze on top, and enjoy.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

